Divorce Waiting Periods – Michigan and Wisconsin
Both Michigan and Wisconsin have waiting periods for individuals seeking a divorce. Both states calculate the waiting period from the date of filing (date of service in Wisconsin) of the complaint or petition for divorce. This means that the sooner you file for divorce the sooner your divorce may be finalized by the Court. In both states, the time between filing the complaint or petition is used to seek an agreement between the parties and exchange requested information.
In Michigan, if you have minor children (under age 18), you must wait a minimum of 180 days after the date of filing of the complaint before your divorce may be finalized. If you do not have minor children, you must wait a minimum of 60 days from the filing of the divorce complaint.
In Wisconsin, you must wait a minimum of 120 days after the date of service of the petition for divorce before your divorce may be finalized.
Ryan Law provides divorce services throughout Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, including divorces in Dickinson, Delta, Iron, Gogebic, Houghton, and Marquette Counties. Ryan Law also provides divorce services in Florence, Marinette, Vilas, Forest, and Oconto Counties in Wisconsin. Contact our office at (906) 774-3808 for a divorce consultation today.